H E A L T H

H-day.
I want to remind you of your good health, if you still have it.  If you don’t, no reminder needed, I’m sure.  This thing called health is arguably our greatest blessing. All else seems over-exposed, haunting, out-of-grasp when health is on the line.
A poetic reminder:
By  Rick Campbell
My heart was suspect.
Wired to an EKG,
I walked a treadmill
that measured my ebb
and flow, tracked
isotopes
that ploughed my
veins,
looked for a
constancy
I’ve hardly ever
found.
For a month I worried
as I climbed the
stairs
to my office.  The
mortality
I never believed in
was here now.  They
say my heart’s ok,
just high cholesterol,
but
I know my heart’s a
house
someone has broken
into,
a room you come back
to and know some stranger
with bad intent has been
there
and touched all that you
love.  You know
he can come back.  It’s his
call,
his house now.
Poem copyright © 2006 by Rick Campbell and reprinted (on poetry.org) from Dixmont,
Autumn House Press, 2008, by permission of the writer. First published in
The Florida Review
, Fall, 2006.
Leave a Reply

