The Joy of Family Yoga

The rhythm of the body
the melody of the mind
& the harmony of the soul
create the symphony of life
~B.K.S. Iyengar

In 2006, before I’d ever taken my first yoga class, I walked my then four-year-old son into a second story Chicago yoga studio, took off our shoes, paid $15 and sat aside while he tried out few poses with a group of other littles. Time passed, we went home. A list was checked: Kids Yoga Class. Done.

That’s exactly how it happened.

A year later, I started my own yoga practice.

Flip the calendar; seven years have gone by since that first kid yoga class. And in those seven years we’ve adopted a different style of yoga: Family Yoga. It’s a way of life, one that we learn bit by tender bit. It’s not a pay-and-drop-them-off arrangement. I teach them, they teach me, our loving teachers guide us all…..

 

Please visit the Trailhead Center Online Magazine to enjoy the rest of this article. Thanks very much for reading and for sharing your clicks with the Trailhead Center.

Leave a Reply

