Wine For the Nights We Stay Home

“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.”
~Edith Sitwell

This article tells the story of my experience with Two Hands Wine. Also, priceless time at home with loved ones, wine worth savoring and the harmony that is rest.

two-hands-2

Pizza Night

Pizza night. Does this phrase mean anything to you? For American families pizza night has come to mean a night in, a night without cooking, a night meant to rest and enjoy family. When I was a child, my mom and I would pick up a pizza after Saturday night mass. The ten minute drive home was nothing but temptation: the smell of the hot crust and melted mozzeralla, the knowledge that there was at least one tiny corner piece that wouldn’t be missed if I ate it on the way home. Solid Gold Saturday night played on the radio, still the soundtrack of pizza night for me.

Also in my mind: nights out that were still pizza night, waiting at red-and-white checked tables, or sitting at table-top video game with my sister. My dad with a draft beer and the rest of us with a pitcher of pop. Again, the smell of the ingredients –the bubbling cheese, hand-made crust, the curling-in-the-oven pepperoni– that drive-me-crazy scent, made the night as much about hunger as it was about eating.

These memories are sharp enough to bring a tear to my eye, now that I’m grown. I’m blessed that I can still have pizza night with my parents and my sister, blessed to have it now with our growing families. A supreme or half-pepperoni taste heavenly, mind you…but it was never about the pizza. It was about the time together. Lately I’m tugged by the feeling that family time is what we need. I crave a night in, to rest and harmonize with my husband and children. I crave time with siblings and nieces and nephews and parents and grandparents…and as much I love cooking together (it’s essential, also family time to us) there is a certain ambiance that comes from a kitchen-closed night. A night off. A night in.

Two Hands.jpg

Two Hands Wine

It just so happens that the nights I opened Two Hands Wine were both pizza nights. I’m sure the good folks at Two Hands will forgive that I didn’t take photos on the night we drank The Picture Series. To be honest, I was just done with my phone (also known as my camera). It was a night with my sister-in-law and her family. We ordered in, Chicago-style with spinach and sausage, and celebrated the day…my husband ran the Chicago Marathon that morning and we were all ready to disconnect, talk about the run, enjoy my sister-in-law’s new home and just harmonize. I know that the the team at Two Hands Wine will understand: their wine was enjoyed in an unplugged environment, with feet-up and sweaters on. We got cozy with their wine, the only pictures of the night are the ones on the bottle which tell the story of each inspiration.

We had The Garden Series on another pizza night, this one homemade. The Garden Series embodies the philosophy that wine is made in the vineyard. “Showcasing six wines, each sourced from a premium Shiraz growing region in Australia, all handled identically in terms of vinification and maturation on the Two Hands’ estate, the Garden Series accurately reflects the soil, climate and other aspects of each unique region.” Each put forth their expression based completely on terroir, or in every day terms: based completely on their home. Home, how lovely. It’s where we hand out heart and where we find our flavor.

I got to know Two Hands Wine co-founder Michael Twelftree last month, during the October WineStudio experience. During these twitter conversations we discussed inspiration, the sense of place transferred from vineyard to bottle, what’s next for Two Hands Wine and how it all began. Just like a chat at home around the table for the fireplace, we covered lots of ground and felt welcome and relaxed.

For Your Night At Home

Everyone has their own favorite pizza place, and I won’t mess with that. But if your night in includes cooking together, making pizza at home can be an excellent excuse for a late-night grocery run to indulge in all the toppings together. Here are a few fun resources to consult for your at home pizza night:

How To Make Awesome Pizza at Home – Cooking Lessons from The Kitchn

Avoid These Common Pizza Mistakes So You Can Make and Eat the World’s Most Perfect Food – Common Mistakes from bon appétit

How to Make Pizza from Scratch – Jamie Oliver

To order, watch a lovely video on Two Hands Wine and learn about Shiraz in Australia (several regions), visit their website.

Please note: these wines were provided to me free of charge as an element of Wine Studio. Emotions, opinions and this post are all my own. No obligations.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. bcwinetrends says:

    Two hands is one of my favorite Aussie Shirazs. I can confirm it is great with pizza! Looking forward to my next trip to South Australia – McLaren Vale, Barossa and Coonawarra.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember lots of pizza in the basement of your house. All cozied in for lots of giggles and gooey cheese faces. Awe, love the wine recommendation and pizza ideas. Love the girl, love the sister, love her parents and all the memories this conjured up for me even more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jill Barth says:

      It’s all about the memories, right? With love, friend.

      Like

  3. Pizza night is a fave here! Usually Fridays and with beer, but occasionally wine. Hey, I live in beer capital USA!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jill Barth says:

      I’m not a beer expert, but I recently interviewed a Certified Beer Server in Chicago and the topic of brewing is fascinating!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. If it were up to my husband and son pizza night would be every night in our house. I can handle it about once a month, good wine certainly helps. I have enjoyed reading all the articles on Two Hands. I am sorry I was unable to attend. In Italy, pizza is consumed by Italians almost exclusively with beer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. wendyulfers says:

    Homemade pizza and champagne is one of my favorite pairings of food and drink. Our Sunday night ritual–we start sipping while we chop and prepare toppings, [dough made in advance], then carry the rest of the bottle to the table. Perfection! You should try this too…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jill Barth says:

      Perfect way to enjoy Sunday night together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

